Manic Monday: Insanity #5

Day 13 (7-30-12)

I’m starting to get discouraged. I didn’t end the last week well (my fault) and today hasn’t helped either. Today was the Fit Test, to see how much your workout has improved over the last 2 weeks (this is the same test done on Day 1). Despite the fact I did everything right today, and I know my cardio has improved, my numbers didn’t increase much. I was better on each exercise, but on some just by 2 numbers. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Not the kind of pick-me-up I was expecting after 2 grueling weeks of Insanity.

Oh well! No point in having a pity party. That won’t get me into better shape…unless I exercise while I cry…but then that would just dehydrate me faster. Nevermind!

Guess I’ll just stick it out for another 7 weeks. I mean, it’s not like I’m going to get fat or out of shape by sticking with it, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Day 14 (7-31-12)

This is what I was thinking almost the whole workout today. :/ Nothing seems more frustrating than having a drooping ponytail swipe your sweaty neck the entire time you are working out…oh wait…burning muscles is pretty frustrating too, but still…that ponytail thing is annoying. If only I had a little bit thicker hair, so it would stay wrapped up in that oh-so-attractive bun I put it in at the start. Haha! Oh well. ๐Ÿ˜›

Today was Plyometric Cardio Circuit again. This is a hard one…at least for me. The 2nd half of the workout has a lot of exercises that involve push-ups…and we all know how great I am at those. Needless to say, my arms were hurtin’ pretty bad there at the end. I think those exercises are supposed to be harder on your abs (b/c you keep your core tight during EVERYTHING), but clearly my abs are stronger than my arms. Haha!

I ate better, drank more water, and was able to last longer today! See…it does work better when you follow the plan! ๐Ÿ˜› I confess though…I still do NOT like working out. I don’t enjoy feeling the “burn” and I’d honestly rather be taking a nap every day instead of putting in the next DVD. But, I have this stubbornness to me…have since I was little. I made up my mind that I was going to do this program, whether I like it or not. If you tell yourself you don’t have a choice, you wipe out that other little voice that says “skipping today won’t hurt me”. Cause you know what? You skip one day, you’re likely to skip another and before you know it, your back on the couch and wondering where you went wrong.

This is my reason for getting up every day and doing my next workout. For some people, they do it for themselves. Me, I do it for my kiddo…because I want to be there for all the amazing things he’s going to do and accomplish! I think, by making it about him, I have a greater responsibility to do it. That way, if I don’t do my workout, I’m not just letting myself down, but him as well…and I don’t want to do that.

Day 15 (8-1-12)

Today was my oh-so-favorite Cardio Recovery…aka Death to Thighs. Again, today is a break from cardio, but you will feel the burn. When I first did this workout I HATED it. Honestly…it wasn’t as bad today. I’m assuming this is a sign my muscles are getting stronger…just like I had hoped! If you don’t have a yoga mat, I would encourage you to get one before doing this workout. It’s not necessary, but you will be on your knees to start off some of the workouts…and if you crash b/c your legs give out, you’ll have that cushion there to protect them. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I would suggest something like this from Walmartย or this from Target! You want it to have enough cushion to protect your knees, but keep in mind you will be on this mat with your shoes on. Yoga mats are most often used when barefoot, so be sure you pick one that WON’T tear easily if your shoes grip it!

Earlier today (Wednesday), I posted a blog with a recipe that I tweaked to be healthier and more in line with the Insanity program. If you find it’s hard to cook meals your whole family will enjoy and that will still be healthy and not throw your workouts off track, you can check it outย here. I’ll be posting more during the weeks to come on Healthier Hump Day (Wednesdays)!

Day 16 (8-2-12)

So, my sweet, sweet hubby comes home from work yesterday and seeing the yoga mat still on the floor, he asks “what workout did you do today?” I sarcastically responded “my favorite…Cardio Recovery.” He looked puzzled and informed me that is Thursday’s workout. I began to tell him that it’s Wednesday’s. He said the recoveries ARE on Thursdays, so I pull out the calendar and wouldn’t you know it…I did the wrong workout yesterday. Which means I got to do 2 workouts today (since I was supposed to do them yesterday). Punishment for not paying better attention…I know.

After doing Pure Cardio today, I’m beginning to see my mind change. I’m actually starting to dislike THIS workout more than Cardio Recovery…especially when you follow it with Cardio Abs. Now, I’ve always had pretty decent abs (it’s about the only thing that was in shape on me :P), but his workout makes me rethink that. It’s rough!…particularly the part where you are lifting both your straight legs up at the same time while your hands are by your side and your feet never touch the mat, like this…

Don’t you just love how she is smiling in that first pic? She’s awesome, but I don’t like watching her…she NEVER gives up. Psshhh!…overachiever. ๐Ÿ˜›

I know I’ve said this before, but it’s the truth. The more my cardio improves, the longer I can go in the workouts and the more tired I get. During the Fit Test, Sean asked the guy how he felt then compared to the first day he did the test. His response? “I feel the same.” His numbers had increased a good bit though. He’s pushing himself more b/c he can, so he feels just as tired as he did the first day, but his workouts have improved…and so will yours! Just stick with it! There are a lot of exercises that I am NOT fond of, but I never sit one out. I do them, so I can improve and that way they won’t be as hard the further into the program I get.

KEEP IT UP and PAY ATTENTION TO YOUR CALENDAR!!! ๐Ÿ˜›

Day 17 (8-3-12)

Today was a little rough for me. Not muscle-wise or because I was winded, I was just give slap out before the workout started. I’ve heard so many times that if you will workout during a particular time of the month (eh hem…ladies (sorry guys)), that you will feel less cramping and discomfort. I guess I will find out in the days to come and can report back to you. As of today…the previous 2.5 weeks apparently hasn’t helped yet. My legs felt like they had been given a tranquilizer and just didn’t want to hold me up today. Not sure how great of a workout I got today, but I did last until the end…almost in tears from tiredness, but managed to suck it up.

One thing I have noticed, and even the hubby kinda laughed at me for it…this white girl CAN’T jump. My push-ups are improving though! ๐Ÿ™‚

Just in case you were wondering, this is how I blog every day (excuse the awful panelling…it’s getting painted ASAP)…

I finish my workout, get rehydrated, sit under the fan and blog that day’s workout before I get going with other things around the house or before I pass out on the couch. ๐Ÿ˜› I take my breaks where I can get them, b/c once little man gets up from his nap, I can kiss those breaks goodbye. What is it about a mom sitting on a couch that makes a kid come running from wherever he is, only to THEN have a fit that momma won’t get up and come play?

Day 18ย (8-5-12)

Did you see that? The date? Yep, I skipped doing the workout on Saturday again and did it today, Sunday. It’s for the exact same reason as last week. :/ Auction day! We had a blast and I even won a power tools set with a free raffle, but was too tired by the time we got home from being out of the house all day.

Honestly, I was nervous about today. I was extremely tired this morning from it just being THIS week of the month. I slowly got myself ready to work out and you know what? It really wasn’t bad at all. I still have about 2-3 days left of possible torture, so I’ll just have to see how my body handles those days when they get here. But surprisingly, so far, so good! Maybe those “experts” do know what they’re talking about after all. I will say this though…I’m now EXHAUSTED and will probably take a nap as soon as I finish this post. It may not have been painful, but it was VERY tiring on my already tired body.

Again, this could have been an EASY excuse for me to sit out today, or even a few days for that matter, but what good would it have done me? I think it just gives me bigger brag rights when I finish this program. ๐Ÿ˜› I’m kidding, I don’t brag to anybody, except my hubby and my momma. Haha!

Leave a Reply

