Healthier Hump Day: Slower Cooker Salsa Chicken

Since the hubby and I have been doing Insanity, I’ve had to watch my recipes a little more carefully. Some of them are fairly easy to tweak to reduce the amount of calories, but some have been put on the back burner. :/ Every Wednesday (hump day), I plan to post at least one recipe I have tweaked into a healthier one! I’ve said before, it can be quite easy to do once you figure out which ingredients need improving. And just because you are cutting out fat/calories, does not mean you lose flavor. Trust me, we wouldn’t eat it if it didn’t taste good!

I’ll give you the recipe first and then at the end will show you the difference in nutritional info between the original and the healthier versions.

Slow Cooker Salsa Chicken

3-4 chicken breasts (I had 3 large that were 30 oz total)

1 C salsa

Cream of chicken

Taco seasoning (equivalent of 1 pkg…approx. 4 Tbsp)

Sour cream

Tortillas

Shredded Cheese

DIRECTIONS

After you trim off all the excess fat from the chicken, place in a slow cooker and cover with taco seasoning.

In separate bowl, combine cream of chicken and salsa. Then pour over chicken.

Cook on HIGH for 4 hours. Remove chicken, shred it with two forks and return to crock pot…stir!

This is where you would add 1/2 C of sour cream if you would like it to be creamier. I actually forgot to add it the first time I made this recipe and we decided we liked it without it/not creamy. So I didn’t add it this time, which in turn just reduced the number of calories even more!

Place 1/8 of the prepared chicken on your tortilla and add approx 1/4 C shredded cheese.

Wrap it up and enjoy!

Here is the breakdown for each version. Since we decided to NOT use sour cream in ours, the calories were reduced to 367/serving instead of 387/serving…20 calories less per serving! It may not seem like much, but when you’re supposed to stick with 300 calories per meal (like I am), it really can make the difference. Note: I didn’t eat my whole 300 per each meal that day, so going over on supper was not an issue.

Also, it may seem like there is not much of a significant difference in calories on the store bought items compared to the homemade items, but you have to remember, when you make your own, you are cutting out all those preservatives/additives that are not good for you and you’re also getting a fresher product!

I hope this helps you see how easy it can be to alter some of your favorite recipes to make them healthier for you and your family! I’ll post more in the weeks to come. And let me know if you have a recipe you’d like me to “alter”!

Leave a Reply

