Manic Monday: Insanity #4

Day 7 (7-23-12)

Today wasn’t so bad! I was back in the comfort of my own living room with a full speed ceiling fan just feet from my head! šŸ˜‰ I seriously did not even want to do today’s workout, though. After the break I got on Sunday (you do this program 6 days a week, getting Sundays off), and the stupid long trip to Walmart I had earlier this afternoon, the last thing I wanted to do was workout. Nevertheless, I put little man down for his nap, relaxed for about 30 min and then started up the DVD.

Let me warn those of you who are thinking of starting, have started or are about to start a program like this. By the 2nd week, the hubby was noticing he was gaining weight. I know that when you work out as extremely as this video calls for, you are bound to gain muscle, but something didn’t seem right. He asked me to look up “gaining weight with Insanity” online. Here is what I found…

1. Yes, you will lose fat and gain muscle and yes, muscle weighs more than fat, BUT you should be burning fat faster than you gain muscle, therefore a weight gain this early should not represent muscle gain.

2. This type of workout is EXTREME and causes sore muscles. Sore muscles are due to the tearing of muscle fibers. This tearing of the muscles also creates fluid retention..aka swelling. Most likely, the weight gain is from the excess fluid.

3. After week 2, your muscles should become a little more used to the workouts and the swelling should decrease. If you have changed your eating habits (for the better) and are continuing to work out properly, you should begin to see the numbers go down during week 3. If you don’t, you need to look at what you’re eating. Exercise does NOT make you gain weight…what you are eating DOES! Make adjustments in your diet where necessary.

TIP: Don’t depend on the scales to see if you are making progress…take measurements on day 1 and continue to check them every 1-2 weeks. That is how you will know if you are making progress.

I plan to start posting some of the healthier recipes our family has been using during this workout. It may seem hard at first, but once you get the hang of it, it can be rather easy to take a favorite recipe that isn’t too healthy and turn it into one that is!

DON’T GET DISCOURAGED! STICK IT OUT AND STAY FOCUSSED!

DAY 8 (7-24-12)

Today was a repeat of Day 5’s workout…Pure Cardio. I’m honestly amazed at how much my cardio has improved in just one week of doing Insanity. If I had tried this workout on day 1, I may not have made it to day 2. On the first day, I was taking a breather in between almost every single exercise (and they were much easier on day 1 than today). Today, I made it through about 4-5 exercises before I took a break! Now, I did take a few 3 sec breaks to correct my form because I was getting a little tired and slightly sloppy. Sean repeats multiple times during the workout to NEVER sacrifice form for speed. If you lose form, stop and start back correctly…or else the workouts aren’t working in your favor.

Today was also the most I’ve sweat yet…pretty sure that’s b/c my cardio has improved so much that I can last longer in the workouts! Improved cardio = longer stamina = harder workout = better results!!!Ā 

Even though I feel like this when I finish a workout, I’m excited to see what the results will be when all is said and done!

DAY 9 (7-25-12)

Today SUCKED! It was a repeat of day 6…Plyometric Cardio Circuit. Again…b/c my muscles can withstand the workouts better now, I push myself harder, which means I get winded faster. Despite the fan full-speed today, I sweat my butt off (I wish it was that easy to lose my extra butt poundage!). I made it through though! I’m at that point now where I’m wanting to see results already and even though others say they can see some difference, I’m not noticing it as much. I guess it’s because I see myself everyday and slight changes go unnoticed. I’m hoping there’s a difference in my progress pics I take this weekend.

I had a friend recently tell me that she and her hubby didn’t see much of a difference until week 6 and then they really saw results. So, I’m not giving up! She also stressed how important it is to keep a healthy diet! We knew this, but it’s still hard…especially when you have a somewhat picky toddler in the house that has to eat too. Breakfast and snacks are easy to manage, but it’s supper we have a hard time with. Like I said earlier, I plan to start posting recipes again, but just healthier versions. They may not be 100% in line with what the Insanity program calls for, but they will be “reduced” almost everything…except flavor!!! šŸ˜‰

Tip: An easy way to reduce fat intake and not lose flavor…use TURKEY substitutes for recipes that call for ground beef and bacon. You lose the grit that is sometimes in ground beef and a good amount of fat (if you use the 97/3) and we can’t tell the difference in the flavor! You’ll see me use ground turkey meat in a lot of my recipes. Turkey bacon is AMAZING! They even sell it in “lower sodium”…EVEN BETTER! Due to the lower amount of fat in turkey bacon, you don’t lose a lot of your substance when you cook it. The bacon is thicker, doesn’t shrivel up and it tastes great. FYI: Bacon is on the list of approved breakfast foods and mid-morning snacks! But with the reduced sodium turkey bacon, you can eat twice the amount!

Check out the comparisons for Oscar Mayer’s Original vs. Turkery Lower Sodium Bacon.

Oscar Mayer Original Bacon

Oscar Mayer Turkey Bacon Lower Sodium

Here’s a sample breakfast for me. Keep in mind, my caloric intake per meal (3 meals, 2 snacks) is right around 300 calories. Yours may be different depending on your goals.

2 organic eggs (with approx. 1 Tbsp organic 2% milk) – approx 140-150 calories total (organic and free range eggs appear to have fewer calories and less fat!)

1 slice of cantaloupe (8-9 pieces) – approx 25-30 calories total (I cut 12 slices out of a large cantaloupe)

2 slices of turkey bacon (lower sodium) – 70 calories total

Total of 250 calories. I had 50 more I could and maybe should have eaten, but I honestly couldn’t hold any more food. šŸ˜›

If you need more calories, add a slice of reduced fat cheese OR use a whole wheat tortilla wrap. Check the calories though to make sure you aren’t going over your allotted amount.

Don’t forget…you HAVE to change your eating habits too…especially if you are wanting to lose weight. Bad eating habits are what led to being overweight in the first place. And don’t torture yourself…if an unhealthy food is NOT in the house, you WON’T be tempted to eat it!

Day 10 (7-26-12)

Today was Death to Thighs…I mean, Cardio Recovery. It’s still just as awful as it was the first time I did it last week. Again, your heart rate won’t go up hardly any with this workout, but when Sean says “deep muscle burn”, you better believe it. Today was definitely a nap kinda day, but I didn’t succumb. Cardio Recovery is just a little over 30 min long…one of the shortest videos in the set…so it doesn’t take long to get through it. I know there are a lot of girls who have thigh issues like me. If I gain weight, that’s straight where it goes…nothing else ever seems to get much bigger…which is sad. Weight gain only in the hips and thighs is AWFUL…at least for me. šŸ˜› Thankfully, Insanity works your thighs and glutes A LOT! So hopefully by the end of this those trouble areas will be redefined!

Not that this is a recipe, but here’s a sample lunch for me on this new nutrition plan. Again, this is not exactly a meal that they suggest in the guide, but it does use a lot of the same “ingredients”.

Turkey & Cheese toasted wrap, cantaloupe and chips

Tortilla – 130 calories – Mission 100% whole wheat

Cheese slice – 70 calories – Sargento colby jack, reduced sodium

2 oz. Turkey – 40 calories – Sara Lee mesquite turkey breast from deli (you can look up nutrition for deli meats online…just be sure you remember the brand name)

Chips – 60 calories – about 7-8 Baked Lays

Cantaloupe – 25-30 calories – 8-9 pieces (1slice)

Approx 330 calories. The chips put me over and are definitely not included in the nutrition plan, but I splurged a tad. :/

Day 11 (7-27-12)

I admit, I was NOT feeling the workout today. I dreaded it, was not in the mood, too tired, wanted to take a nap, etc. I still did it though and now I feel sick and am shaky. I said before that I am not the type that uses exercise as a stress reliever (I wasn’t stressed today, just not in the mood) and today proved that. I took a lot more breaks today than usual and I just didn’t care. Earlier today I was having dizzy spouts for no apparent reason and mostly when I was sitting down. They cleared up before the workout, but I’m still not sure what was going on. All this to say, I can come up with a million excuses to NOT workout, but none of them are legit (unless you’re sick of course…and I’m not). They’re just that…excuses. So…are you going to get up and do your workout or just give another excuse? Time is ticking and it’s just your health that’s fading away.

Day 12 (7-29-12)

If you pay attention to my dates, you may have noticed that I didn’t do day 12 on the actual 12th day, but rather the 13th. We were going non-stop yesterday afternoon and were out of the house from about 2:30-9:30pm. My workout falls into the first part of that time slot, so I missed it. Once we were home, there was no way I was about to do Insanity, so I waited until today. Good thing too, b/c I was exhausted last night and to have done it then would have destroyed me. šŸ˜›

I admit, I did NOT even come close to eating the way I was supposed to before the workout today. Let’s just say, I didn’t eat much, what I ate was nowhere in the nutrition plan and I didn’t drink any water, but instead just an 8 oz. glass of V8 Fusion. Today SUCKED for me. Best part?…the hubby was home to watch me crash and burn (this was the first time he’s ever seen me do Insanity). On top of that, the schedule called for Pure Cardio AND Insane Abs…yep, 2 workouts. My chest was actually hurting after some exercises and I took longer breaks than normal to help it recoup. Like I said, it was ROUGH.

So, take my word when I say you HAVE to eat and drink properly before you take on this workout. You will seriously regret it if you don’t.

Leave a Reply

