Mickey Mouse Birthday Party

I have a few friends that are planning Mickey Mouse parties, so I thought I’d share this on the blog, from little man’s party back in February. Since the party, we’ve moved and things got a little crazy so I’m just now getting around to sharing all the projects I made to help make his day special!

I may have gone a tad overboard, but I had so much fun creating all the details! I had so many, that I didn’t even have time to finish some in time for the party. Yes…I had more than what is shown in this post. πŸ˜›

The invitations! I got the idea off Pinterest. They were actually for sale on Etsy, but I knew I could recreate them for free, so I did! I included one for the parents too! The kids brought their tickets to get in to the “Clubhouse” and then got a sticker, hand stamp and Mickey ears!

I’ll start at the street and move on into the house since this is how the guests saw it!

I made this sign using some scrap wood we had from building an addition onto the house we were living in at the time. I’m a craft supply hoarder and already had the paints on hand, so this project cost me absolutely nothing…other than time. I scanned in the clubhouse logo at about 900dpi (graphic designer jargon…sorry) so I could enlarge it big enough and then traced it onto the wood with a ball point pen…which creates an indention in the wood and makes it easy to see where to paint without extra steps!

Next, I created sidewalk signs that featured all the Clubhouse characters. I bought one of those birthday bundle supply books from Walmart for like $8 and it turned out to be the BEST purchase. (Since I’m a graphic designer, I could scan anything in the book and use the graphics to create anything I wanted on a larger scale…for FREE!) The book had napkin rings, table displays, placemats, table runner, etc.) I had scanned all the characters and enlarged them so I could use them for lots of different projects! I printed out each character and spray mounted them onto pieces of cardboard (I cut up a moving box since we had plenty lying around). The only cost to me on the sidewalk signs was the ribbon (3 rolls/$1 at Michael’s) and the dowel sticks (also at Michael’s…one stick was long enough to make 3 signs…less than $1/dowel stick).

Next, I had 4 different games outside as well as an inflatable jumper!

Pluto’s Frisby Toss – $1 Store laundry baskets, signs on dowel paint sticks, stuck through basket holes and then staked into the ground. The store also had Mickey Mouse Clubhouse frisbies for $1 each, so I bought 5! Total cost…about $7

Then there was the Bucket Toss. Again…saw this idea on Pinterest. It wasn’t a new idea if you’ve ever watched the Bozo Show! πŸ˜‰ The kids obviously didn’t get the reference, but still had a blast playing it! Costs: 6 buckets – $1/each, 1×6 – about $5, screws – $3, balls – $1.50 for 12. Total = $15.50

Donald’s Duck Pond! This was a huge hit and a huge mess! The kids flocked around the pool (luckily this February day wasn’t too cold) and not much later, I had a soaked Birthday boy. I had a star on the bottom of one of the ducks and prize candy to give out, but completely forgot to bring the candy out. They didn’t seem to mind at all. We eventually had to empty the pool, but it was fun while it lasted! We already had the pool and I found the ducks on clearance for $3! Total cost = $3

Clubhouse Bean Bag Toss! This one took us a while to finish, but I think it turned out great! We already had the board from the house addition leftovers. The hubby cut out the circles and I painted it blue (we already had this paint too). I printed out enlarged characters and decoupaged them to the board. The only expense I had on this one was the fabric and peas for the bean bags…about $4-$5 total.

Then there was the bouncer! This was a gift from us and my mom! To rent one runs about $200 and just for a little more you can own a smaller one! This one has an attached ball pit and he absolutely loved it! It’s small enough that it can be inflated indoors! Of course, the kids had to take their shoes off before they got in…so I made a sign and placed it on a “shoe shelf”.

As soon as you entered the door, the kids got their stickers, hand stamp and Mickey ears. Before the party even started, I said “I have a feeling the adults are going to wear these more than the kids”…and I was right. My mom and sis even sported them the whole time! This was, by far, the most time consuming of all the projects. I got the headbands from the dollar store for 2/$1. The felt was on sale and I used maybe a yard and half?…so maybe $4-$5? I honestly can’t remember…or I intentionally blocked this project from my memory. Haha! The foam I used was a roll I got from the dollar store. I doubled up the circles on each ear to make it sturdy enough. Total cost = $12…and a TON of patience.

This is the serving table!

Cups, solid color serving plates, tablecloth all came from the dollar store. The character plates and napkins are from Walmart. The table garland is made from foam and outlined in sharpie marker. The buttons on the pants were painted on, but you could probably use stickers too. All strung together with ribbon. I used some leftover stars I cut from foam as table confetti.

I had these canvases left over from a project I had done months earlier, so this was another one that just cost me time! (I told you…I hoard craft supplies!)

The birthday banner…done in Clubhouse font! I don’t own a cricut, so all of the letters were hand cut. Not as bad as it sounds…cut them while watching TV! πŸ˜‰This is the main table set up! The topiaries I had placed throughout cost more than I wanted them to, but those styrofoam balls are stupidly expensive. I honestly don’t remember how much they cost, but I got them at Michael’s…on sale (still too pricey in my opinion). TIP: Do NOT spray paint styrofoam. It will MELT it! I already knew this, but you do not want to make that mistake and ruin them after you paid so much for them. The stars are made out of foam and the stakes are skewer sticks. I spray painted the pots and hot glued white buttons on. The crinkle paper is from the dollar store…I LOVE me some crinkle paper!

The framed pic is something I saw on Pinterest too! I intent to do it every year. It’s just too cute of an idea to not continue. Since I knew we were going to have out of town family at the party, I decided to have some wallet pics they could take with them…especially since we were getting ready to move out of town ourselves.

This was on the coffee table in the living room. We didn’t expect too many people to be in there with everything else that was going on, but wanted it to be fun too! These frames were bought at Michael’s for $1 each and painted. The Mickey stickers are just scrapbook stickers!

This is the table in the sunroom…where people could visit and eat and where we opened gifts. BTW…we had Hot Diggity Dogs! πŸ˜‰

More topiaries, but balloon ones this time! Balloons were bought at Walmart…and so was the table cloth.

He had so much fun and thoroughly enjoyed this one particular birthday card!

After all the presents were opened, we moved on to the cake! My mom made my and my siblings cakes growing up and that was one tradition I wanted to do with my own kids. I helped out with his first birthday cake, but due to the overwhelming amount of projects I set out to do, I wasn’t able to do it this year. 😦 Thankfully, my mom is fully capable of still doing it by herself! Cakes sure have come a long way since I was a kid!

Once it was time to leave, each kiddo got to take home a Mickey Mouse goody bag! I made each of them the size of a small pillow case and hand-sewed the buttons on, so they could still be used once the contents were emptied out of it!

Here’s what was included in each bag! Everything cost $1 or less.

Each M&M container had a sticker I designed on it as a “Thank You”!

We had a blast and I think all the kids that came did too! I hope you were able to get some great ideas for your own parties!

See ya real soon!

Lisa

26 thoughts on “Mickey Mouse Birthday Party

    • I used a black house paint I had leftover from a project. Do NOT use spray paint…it will eat away at styrofoam! You can buy sample size paints from Lowe’s for around $3. It would be enough paint to cover a lot of Mickey’s!

    • Kristen, I made the headbands myself! I used the thick headbands that came 2/$1 from the Dollar Tree, cut out thick foam circles for the ears and then covered it all with felt in different stages. It was VERY time consuming, but very easy once I had a system going!

    • Robyn, I’m actually a graphic designer! So when I see an idea I like, I find it easier to recreate it myself…that way I can make my changes and customize it just like I want to! It’s a lot of fun!

  1. I absolutely LOVE everything you did for this party. I’m planning a Mickey Mouse clubhouse party for my daughter’s second birthday. I wanted to know if you were selling the design you used for your invitations. I’ve looked all over and can’t find any design I like as much as yours. And as hard as I try, I cannot recreate it. Please let me know. Thank you

    • Hi Stephanie,
      I actually don’t design invitations for customers. 😦 I generally only do corporate work…I design the more fun things on the side for my family! Thanks for checking though!
      -Lisa

  2. Can you tell me How u made the goodie bags and where you found the things to make them. Like specifically. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Jacky,
      I just bought the cheapest black and red cotton fabric from Hancock’s to make the pillow cases (goodie bags). I also got the buttons from there. The yellow ribbon I tied it with was from Michael’s…it was the ribbon they often put on sale for 3/$1. The coloring book, regular book and Play-Doh all came from Target. The books were $1 each and I had a stacked coupon for the Play-Doh, so that was super cheap! The bubbles and M&Ms containers came from the Dollar Tree. I think the bubbles came 6 to a pack for $1 and the containers came 10/pack. I made my own label for those. The colors also came from the Dollar Tree and had the Mickey characters on them! I bought 2 boxes and then gave each child 3. Hope that helps! Thanks for asking!
      -Lisa

  3. Sorry I have more questions lol I want to do something similar but I am did u sew all four sides for the pillow case? I’ve never made anything lol I have my husband do everything he’s way more artistic. How do u attach the colors without making them look wacko

    • I sewed the black top to the red bottom first, then folded it over, seams out, them sewed the bottom and open side closed, then turn it right side out. I’m not a pro seamstress by any means, but I can manage a simple small pillowcase…which is all this is (fits the travel size pillows)! The top is left open so you can fill it! I then hand sewed on the buttons, filled it and closed it up with the ribbon.

    • Sorry for the horribly late response. I’m just now logging back in to read everything. I ordered it online, directly from a bounce house supplier. I can’t remember the exact name…sorry. Prices were just too high on Amazon, Toys R Us, etc.

  4. Very nice birthday party . We r planning a. mickey mouse birthday party for our son who’s turning 3 in November u have very neat ideas thank you

Leave a Reply

