Insanity Workout: Day 2

DAY 2  (07-17-12)

Note: I wrote this yesterday with the intention of keeping it a draft until I blogged the whole week in one post, but it ended up long and I didn’t want the weekly update to be a short novel, so I decided to go ahead and post it now.

I’m hoping this round goes without a hitch, but I started today with a lot of stress and worries on my mind…probably not the best way to start a workout (at least not for me). I’ve known some people to use stress to fuel their workout…this chick is not one of them.  I managed to make it through the majority of the workout just fine, but I think I found where I injured my calf last time…the exercise starts with 4 push-ups and then you “run it out”…like this…

Shot 1: Position after she jumps in the air and then lowers to jump into push-up position
Shot 2: Push-ups
Shot 3: “running it out”

I noticed my left calf getting stressed (where my right was just fine), so I sat out until those type exercises were done. I think it was just the overextension of the calf muscle when the leg “jumped” back out and landed/impacted in the push-up position. There were multiple ones that used this concept, like this…

Shot 1: Jumps to right side, keeping hands in place
Shot 2: Jumps back to push-up position
Shot 3: Jumps to left side, keeping hands in place

Shot 1: Push-up position
Shot 2: Jump to bring legs in between arms
Shot 3: Legs between arms before jumping back out to push-up position

The break I took is where the stress of the day finally hit me. Earlier in the workout (I workout during little man’s nap) I heard him crying “I want momma” thru the monitor. He wakes up in the middle of a nap crying maybe once every 2-3 months, if that. This threw me off to start with and then the pause I took made everything crash on me at once. So, my sit out time was spent wiping tears. 😦 As soon as the exercises I mentioned above were over, I jumped back up and finished the workout. I told you, I’m determined to finish it this time.

I think that’s where a lot of people have a problem with completing their workouts. The stress of the day gets to them and they’re too tired to do the exercises. There have been so many nights when Matt gets home from work and he’s beyond tired, but he has yet to miss a workout…sometimes not even getting in bed till 1am just b/c he was determined to get it done.

Here’s my little emotional rant, so bear with me…

People are too quick these days to find the easy way out. Pain —> pain meds. Overweight —> buy a product. Don’t feel like cooking —> fast food (I’m very guilty of this one). I’ve never been one to have to worry about the scales…I seem to have a fast metabolism, but that says nothing for my actual health. There are people much larger than me that have better stamina and eat better than I do. I watched my dad eat almost anything he wanted and he generally justified it with “I’ll work it off at the gym”. He joked about how his big belly was hard as a rock…”from working out”. It was hard as a rock, but that didn’t mean anything. Ironically, my dad passed away from a heart attack…AT THE GYM. You can’t eat whatever you want to and think that exercise will fix everything. You can’t eat whatever you want to and expect a pill or a supplement to burn the calories for you. YOU HAVE TO EAT RIGHT AND EXERCISE. There are a lot of things that go on in our lives that we have absolutely no control over, but our bodies is not one of them. We have control over what goes in it and how we treat it. I don’t know why it took me this long to personally come to that realization, but I’m working hard on gaining control over my body now. I’m being more careful about what meals I cook, the snacks we keep in the house, getting of my butt and doing physical exercise and trying my hardest to avoid drive-thrus (I fail at this sometimes, but not near as much as I used to). I want to be a healthy mom and wife. I want to be around to outlast these stressful times (which I’m praying will be over sooner rather than later). At this point, getting rid of the baby belly I’ve unwillingly held on to for 2.5 yrs is just an added bonus to getting back in shape. And yes, I used to be in shape…I used to be able to play 20+ games of tennis in this kind of heat without that long of a break. 😛

If you’ve been debating starting an exercise program, Insanity or some other one, I’d encourage you to do it. No one said they’re easy. If they were, there wouldn’t be so many people with weight/health problems. These things require hard work and dedication, but it pays off! If you’re a mom or a dad, do it for your kids…it’s tough as hell to live a life where one of your parents is no longer there. So get to it! Commit and stick to it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

