Manic Monday: Let the Insanity Begin!

**To start, I intend to be extremely honest about my personal experience with this exercise program. If I fail, you will know it. If I succeed, you will know it. If I cry, puke, skip a day, etc., you will know it. Please no negative comments! Exercise for me is difficult enough, so if you can’t be encouraging, do NOT post a comment.**

A couple of months back, the hubby and I got sucked into a late night infomercial for the workout Insanity. We quickly saw that it definitely earned it’s name! (If you aren’t familiar with the program, you can check it out HERE.) We knew about P90X and neither of us really felt motivated to do it…maybe it was the 90 day part (seems long for someone who doesn’t work out at all and doesn’t enjoy it). But, we got totally sucked into the Insanity program (60 days). The results appeared to blow P90X out of the water (no offense to those of you who do or have done P90X…anyone who sticks to a program like either of these gets major props in my book!). The downfall for us was the sticker price on it…retails for around $150. Luckily I recently found it brand new on eBay for less than $100. Father’s Day present…check! Now I hadn’t originally planned on doing this with the hubby, but once he opened it, one of the first things he asked was “You gonna do it with me?!” Ummmmm…”we’ll see”. If you’re familiar with the program, you know that you can EARN a t-shirt that says “Insanity” on the front and “I earned it” on the back by submitting before and after pics of yourself along with some forms that have your before and after measurements. If I was going to do this, I was gonna finish and earn that shirt, so I took my “before” pics just in case I decided to it. Well, let me tell you, those pics answered for me…Insanity, it is!

Image

Image

There is a warning with this workout and they strongly encourage you to get approval from your Dr. before starting it. Ummm, yeah…we didn’t do that. So, this is me saying get approval first…don’t just do what we did. I don’t have any medical reason not to start the program and Matt knows he has bad knees and knows his limits. I’m not the type to try and keep up with the instructor if I physically can’t and I’ll stop for a break if I start to feel faint.

Included in the kit is a nutrition guide. There are formulas for you to plug in your specific weight, measurements, goals and whatnot to determine how much you should eat and what types of foods you should eat…strictly for keeping your body prepared for the workouts (they’re super intense). This is NOT a diet, although the nutrition guide is a good start to improving your every day eating habits. I’m going to tell you up front, I will NOT be following the guide 100%. I’m a very picky eater and I love my sweets, but I am trying my hardest to get the nutrients I need in my daily diet, so I can complete these workouts without faceplanting the floor.

With all that said, I’ll show you my starting numbers, just so there is something to refer back to once I get farther along in the workout plan. They won’t mean much to you personally, but it may help you to see how I improve each week (hopefully I’ll improve :P). I’m not very big, but I’m also not the healthiest person. I have a fast metabolism, but I can’t run a 1/4 mile without getting totally exhausted. So, I mean it when I say, if I can do this, so can you!

These are the figures Insanity requires when submitting your pics for the shirt…

Weight: 117

Pants/Dress size: 4

Body fat percentage: 26% (this seemed high to me, but to get in a healthier bracket, I would need to lose 7 lbs…which would be the remainder of my pregnancy weight and some pounds off my thighs!)

Chest: 33″

Waist: 27″

Hips: 38″

Legs (thigh): 22″

Arm (bicep): 10.5″ (don’t laugh)

(I’ll post my before pics once I have pics that show improvement :P)

DAY 1 WORKOUT

Today’s workout was strictly the fit test. It’s a good bit shorter than the actual workouts and has a lot of long breaks (which the workouts do not). This test is to give you a starting point so you can measure your improvement over time. I’ll retake this same one every two weeks and keep track of my number of reps I can do for each exercise in the test. I actually did better than I thought I would (I was expecting pretty poor results, since I haven’t done any form of exercise since long before my kiddo was born…except walking on the treadmill, which didn’t last long AT ALL).

I chugged water all morning long and had already had 2 of my 5 meals for the day (the breakdown for meals is included in the nutrition guide). I admit, that during some of the exercises, I stopped to take short breaks and one I stopped altogether after only a handful of reps b/c my ears got hot and they started to ring (my sign for an approaching black out). Know your limits!!! I also planned ahead and took 1 Ibuprofin before I began and will take another before bed tonight. They suggest taking Ibuprofin in the guide. There are 8 exercises in the fit test. I checked my heart rate after the 6th and it was at 164…normal rate being around 85. I did good for the first half when I took breaks…standing up. After that, my butt hit the floor for the breaks. I drank a good bit of water during the breaks too which helped me get through the exercises, but just about did me in on the cool down stretches of all things. There was a lot of being upside down and lunges where my stomach was being squished on my thigh. So my throw up factor was high just from the water being sloshed around, but not from the workout itself.

All in all, it wasn’t as bad as I expected for even the warmup, and I prepared for sheer torture.

As long as I stay on track, I plan to blog every Monday…Manic Monday! I’ll give an update from the previous week’s workouts. The posts probably won’t be this long (since this is the main intro post), but hopefully they’ll give you enough information/encouragement.

If you have any questions about what I’m personally doing or about the workouts, etc, just ask! I’ll be happy to answer! 

Lisa 🙂

3 thoughts on “Manic Monday: Let the Insanity Begin!

    • I’ve noticed that about him! He’s a good instructor though! The hubby and I are both hurtin’, but we’re pretty determined to stick with it and finish. How are you doing with it this 2nd time around? Are you liking your results?

      • I am… I was in better shape when I started the second time around so that helped. And I will always have a hard time with my diet, but I have gotten good results all the same.

Leave a Reply

