Taco Bean Soup & Cheese Biscuits

If my husband would let me, I’d probably cook Mexican food every night…unfortunately, he won’t 😦 I’ve been creative here lately with my Mexican recipes, so it doesn’t seem like he’s eating it as often as he actually is 😉 Gotta learn to mix it up…secretively! I could eat homemade tacos about every other night (and so could our son), but one of my other favorite dishes is Taco Bean Soup. Who says soups are for Fall and Winter? I could cook them all year long! I found the recipe in a magazine a few years back and did some major tweaking. After I finished my first batch, I had trouble figuring out why they had so many extra ingredients in the original (it was enough to feed a small army). It turned out perfect! It became the go-to meal I cooked for large get-togethers (even my scaled down version will feed about 8 people), Bunco night, sick friends, etc. I even cook it as a freezer meal…we eat it that night and freeze the rest for another night! It reheats wonderfully! When friends would ask for the recipe, I would show them the original and then tell them how I cooked mine and they always wanted my version instead! 🙂 So here it is! Enjoy! Oh!!! It pares great with cheese biscuits, so I’m including the recipe my mom came up with too! I know there are a TON of cheese biscuit recipes out there, especially a certain chain restaurant knock off, but sometimes a more simple version is what’s needed. You won’t regret making this recipe…I promise!

TACO BEAN SOUP

I apologize in advance for the lack of photos. I was in a huge hurry to get dinner ready, so the camera was forgotten. No worries, it’s super easy without them!

I don’t normally buy my turkey meat in the tube (even sounds gross), but they were out of the ground turkey at the store this time. My spice container is actually my homemade taco seasoning…I prefer this over the packaged kind b/c it’s only the spices I need and NO added preservatives and crud you can’t pronounce.

1 lb ground turkey meat (I usually use 93/7) (I prefer this over beef, but beef can be used…turkey is cheaper and leaner though and you can’t tell the difference!)

1 lb ground sausage (I prefer Jimmy Dean Hot!)

1 packet taco seasoning (I mix my own…recipe at the end of the this post)

2 cans dark red kidney beans (rinsed and drained)

2 cans pinto beans (rinsed and drained)

2 cans rotel

4 C water

DIRECTIONS

1. Brown turkey meat and sausage in large pan until browned/cooked though. Drain and then transfer to large stockpot.

2. Add taco seasoning and mix well.

3. Stir in water, beans and rotel. Bring to a boil.

4. Reduce heat and simmer uncovered for 30 min…stirring occasionally.

5. Serve with sour cream and/or cheese. We also eat ours with either white corn tortilla chips or Fritos scoops!

CHEDDAR BISCUITS

2 C bisquick

1 stick butter, melted

8 oz sour cream

1/2 C sharp cheddar (I generally use a whole cup…we like cheese!)

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix all ingredients together. (It may seem like a lot of sour cream, but 8 oz. is correct!)

Spoon onto greased cookie sheet (I use the air bake pans…my bottoms NEVER get burned!) You could also spoon into mini muffin tins for mini biscuits!

Bake for 10-12 minutes or until slightly brown on tips.

TACO SEASONING

Use an empty spice bottle to store your own mix! This recipe makes the equivalent of 1 seasoning envelope.

1 Tbsp onion powder

1 Tbsp garlic powder

1 Tbsp chili powder

1 Tbsp cumin

1/8 tsp red pepper flakes

1/8 tsp salt

If you decide to cook any of these recipes, please give me your feedback! I love hearing from you guys!

Lisa 🙂

One thought on “Taco Bean Soup & Cheese Biscuits

Leave a Reply

