Get It Together – Pantry

How was your Memorial Day weekend? Did you enjoy the break from work and take some time to reflect on what it means to live in a FREE country? We are truly blessed and I am very grateful for those who leave their families back home to go fight for us! What a sacrifice…one that we may never truly understand. Hope you took time to remember all of those who fought for us and continue to do so while you were enjoying time with your friends and family! I got to spend most of the weekend with my mom and little sis. They had a wedding to attend in New Orleans and I got to tag along! It’s been years since the 3 of us took a trip together, so it was a good break! It was also the first time I’ve ever spent a night away from my kiddo…who is almost 2 1/2. I SURVIVED and did NOT have a meltdown! 😉

Image

First off, I apologize for not blogging sooner. I’ve had some technical problems with more than one piece of my equipment. I’m working as quickly as possible to get it resolved. I have loads to blog, and it’s driving me nuts that I’m getting behind already. I’ve got more recipes and a fun craft project coming up too! In the meantime, I thought I’d share a quick little tip with you that has made my life easier!

There are too many nights where I am just too tired to cook, let alone even think about what my family should eat. I usually buy my groceries according to what meals I want to cook that week and used to simply unload everything in the pantry when I got home from the store. Doesn’t sound so bad, right?…until I FORGET what I bought certain ingredients for, or would end up using an ingredient for a spur-of-the-moment recipe only to discover I REALLY needed it for another recipe I had originally planned. Here is my solution…

Image

This is my “Meals to ‘Go'” pantry! I saw the idea on Pinterest (of course) and just adapted it a little. I got the storage bins a Walmart for around $2/ea. I got ID badge clips and sleeves to hold my meal cards and simply clipped them to the bins (I think a pack of each was around $2 too)! (I plan on designing cuter cards later, but I was in a hurry today). This way, I put every ingredient I need to cook that meal (unless they have to be refrigerated) inside the appropriately labeled bin. We’ve decided to stick with a meal plan for each day and not stray even if we aren’t “in the mood” for that particular recipe that day. This way, all the ingredients get used the way they are supposed to and nothing goes to waste. The best part? No more “What do you want to do for supper?” We know what we’re having every night and I simply pull out the bin for the meal to be cooked and everything is already there! 

It’s these little things that seem to make life so much easier! Who would have thought? 😉 

FYI…these little bins make great containers for bandaid boxes, ointments, medical tape, etc. for the medicine cabinet! Ours is labeled “Owies”. If someone gets a scrape or cut, it’s so easy to just pull that bin out of the medicine closet, fix the “owie” up, and put it back. 

I also put one in the fridge to hold all of our shredded cheese bags! We eat a lot of cheese. They had the tendency to get lost in the drawer and when just stacked up on a shelf, they slid everywhere. Easy fix!

Image

Do you make weekly meal plans for your family? How do you use storage bins around your house? Would love to hear your ideas!

Lisa 🙂

Leave a Reply

