Chicken & Dumplings and Boston Cream Poke Cake

I haven’t always loved to cook, but shortly after I started living on my own, I quickly realized that cooking and I needed to become friends…quickly. At the time I referred to AllRecipes for the majority of my ideas. I admit…I’m not skilled in the recipe creation process, but I can follow any recipe to perfection (most of the time). I’ll still resort to AllRecipes when I feel Pinterest isn’t showing me what I want to see, but here lately, I’ve been trying out a ton of dishes and desserts I’ve pinned!

Now…I’d love to say I had this wonderful recipe for chicken & dumplings, but in all honesty, I had some leftover rotisserie chicken that needed to be used and I had some ingredients in the pantry that could work for such a recipe. None of the recipes I had on hand used everything I had available to me, so I got brave (usually not a good idea for me in the kitchen). Since my chicken was already cooked, I got a little confused when reading the recipes since they all called for raw chicken. So, I just dumped the chicken I had into a giant pot, added chicken broth, cream of chicken and celery, and some water. That’s when it all looked a mess and I told the hubby “pretty sure I just ruined supper.” I stuck with it though and it ended up being the BEST chicken & dumplings I’ve ever cooked! So here’s my recipe…hope you enjoy! (Sorry there are no pics, but I honestly thought it was ruined, so I didn’t bother with it.)

photo courtesy of Patio Daddio BBQ

Lisa’s Chicken & Dumplings

2 1/2 C rotisserie chicken (mine was garlic butter)

2 cans chicken broth

1 can cream of chicken

1 can cream of celery

1/2 C water

salt and pepper to taste

1 can biscuits (I used Grands Jr. Buttermilk) (I only used 7 and baked the other 3, but you can use all if you want more dumplings!)

Directions

Combine all ingredients except biscuits in a large pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to Medium and allow to cook for approx. 5 min., stirring occasionally. Make sure all soups are mixed in well, remove approx. 1 C of stock. (Hubby suggested not adding the extra water at the start or using less broth, but the broth is what gives it such a good flavor and the water just helped dial down the saltiness.) Flatten and tear apart each individual biscuit (I tore mine into about 8 pieces each) and add to pot. Continue to cook on Medium heat for approx. 7-10 min (until biscuit dough is cooked through). Enjoy!

I let the hubby choose dessert…he had the choice of an Oreo cream cheese layered dessert (which I’ll have to name b/c it doesn’t have one) or the Boston Cream Poke Cake (originally posted by The Country Cook). He chose the cake…I would have chosen the Oreo dessert (so they’ll be a post with it soon!) 😛 It’s super simple and a really good summer cake, b/c you store it in the fridge!

Boston Cream Poke Cake

1 box yellow cake mix (+ ingredients needed to make cake)

2 (3.4 oz) boxes INSTANT vanilla pudding

4 C milk

1 container chocolate frosting

Directions

Bake cake according to package directions in a 9×13 pan. Once cake is done, while still warm, poke holes all over cake in 1-inch intervals using a wooden spoon handle or something similar in size.

In a medium bowl, add milk to pudding and whisk until all lumps are gone. Let the pudding thicken slightly (you want it to fill the holes, but not be too runny).

Pour over cake and gently press down into holes and to sides of pan using a spatula.

Place cake in fridge and allow to completely cool before adding the frosting. Once cooled, remove lid and seal from frosting container and heat in microwave in 15 second intervals, stirring in between each one, until frosting is pourable, but not bubbly hot. Pour over cake and spread evenly.

Allow frosting to cool a little before placing in fridge to completely cool and set up. Keep cake refrigerated! Enjoy!

Not the easiest cake to cut and photograph, but it sure is yummy!

Leave a Reply

